FOREWORD

The 49th edition of the Fungal Genetics Newsletter contains articles and notes on a wide variety of topics. As usual, the Aspergillus and Neurospora bibliographies are included, as is the most recent FGSC mailing list. Suggestions regarding the Newsletter are welcome at any time and should be directed to the Newsletter Editor, the FGSC Director and/or to the Fungal Genetics Policy Committee. All address changes and subscription inquiries should be directed to the FGSC.

I want to take this opportunity to thank Alice Schroeder for her many years of service on the editorial board as she is retiring from this position.

Finally, the 50th edition of the Fungal Genetics Newsletter will be published next year. To mark this anniversary, we will expand the scope of the Newsletter to include communications describing bioinformatics approaches aimed at understanding genes and genomes.

Matthew S. Sachs, Editor Oregon Graduate Institute Beaverton, Oregon

Members of the Editorial Board:

Jesus Aguirre, Instituto de Fisiología Celular, UNAM A. John Clutterbuck, Glasgow University David J. Jacobson, Stanford University Martin L. Pall, Washington State University, Pullman, Washington Alice Schroeder, Washington State University, Pullman, Washington Claude Selitrennikoff, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, Eric U. Selker, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon Richard Weiss, University of California, Los Angeles, California Miriam Zolan, Indiana University, Indiana John Kinsey, Fungal Genetics Stock Center, ex officio

ad hoc reviewers

Jonathan Walton Gillian Turgeon

Members of the Fungal Genetics Policy Committee:

Matthew Sachs (Chair), Oregon Graduate Institute Ralph Dean (Secretary), North Carolina State University Nancy Keller, University of Wisconsin, Madison Louise Glass, University of California, Berkeley Dr. Giuseppe Macino, University of Rome Marc Orbach, University of Arizona Gillian Turgeon, Cornell University Alfredo Herrera-Estrella, Unidad Irapuato Jak Kinsey , FGSC (ex officio) Kevin McCluskey, FGSC (ex officio) Dick Weiss, UCLA (ex officio)

Members of the Neurospora Policy Committee

Barry Bowman (Chair), University of California, Santa Cruz Gloria Turner, University of California, Los Angeles Deborah Bell-Pederson, Texas A& M University Tony Griffiths, University of British Columbia

Editorial, publication and distribution costs supported by donations and subscriptions to the Fungal Genetics Newsletter and by grant DBI 9726962 from the Biological Research Program, National Science Foundation. Distributed by: Fungal Genetics Stock Center, Dept. of Microbiology, University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS