FOREWORD

The 51st edition of the Fungal Genetics Newsletter contains articles and notes on a wide variety of topics. As usual, the Aspergillus and Neurospora bibliographies are included, as is the most recent FGSC mailing list and a supplement to the 9th edition of the FGSC catalog. The abstracts from the Neurospora Conference at Asilomar are published as an electronic supplement available at the FGSC web-site. As always, suggestions regarding the Newsletter are welcome at any time and should be directed to the Newsletter Editor, the FGSC Director or Curator and/or to the Fungal Genetics Policy Committee. All address changes and subscription inquiries should be directed to the FGSC.

Matthew S. Sachs, Editor Oregon Health & Science University Beaverton, Oregon msachs@ebs.oi.edu

Members of the Editorial Board:

Jesus Aguirre, Instituto de Fisiología Celular, UNAM A. John Clutterbuck, Glasgow University David J. Jacobson, Stanford University Martin L. Pall, Washington State University, Pullman, Washington Claude Selitrennikoff, University of Colorado Health Sciences Center, Denver, Eric U. Selker, University of Oregon, Eugene, Oregon Richard Weiss, University of California, Los Angeles, California Miriam Zolan, Indiana University, Indiana Rodolfo Aramayo, Texas A & M University Gillian Turgeon, Cornell University John Kinsey, Fungal Genetics Stock Center, ex officio

Members of the Fungal Genetics Policy Committee:

Ralph Dean (Chair), North Carolina State University Gillian Turgeon (Secretary), Cornell University Louise Glass, University of California, Berkeley Dr. Giuseppe Macino, University of Rome Marc Orbach, University of Arizona Alfredo Herrera-Estrella, Unidad Irapuato Jim Kronstad, University of British Columbia Michelle Momany, University of Georgia Anne Osbourne, John Innes Center Jak Kinsey , FGSC (ex officio) Kevin McCluskey, FGSC (ex officio) Dick Weiss, UCLA (ex officio)

Members of the Neurospora Policy Committee

Barry Bowman (Chair), University of California, Santa Cruz Gloria Turner, University of California, Los Angeles Deborah Bell-Pederson, Texas A& M University Tony Griffiths, University of British Columbia

The Fungal Genetics Policy Committee and the Neurospora Policy Committee, on behalf of the Fungal research community, thank Jak Kinsey for his many years of outstanding service as the Director of the FGSC. Dr. Kinsey has retired and Dr. Mike Plamann has taken the position as Director of the FGSC.

Instructions to contributors

Please see the instructions on the FGSC web-site. Electronic submissions are preferred and should be directed to the Editor of the FGN.

Editorial, publication and distribution costs supported by donations and subscriptions to the Fungal Genetics Newsletter and by grant DBI 0235887 from the Living Stock Collections Program, National Science Foundation. Distributed by: Fungal Genetics Stock Center, School of Biological Sciences, University of Missouri, Kansas City, MO 64110